DD-WRT to the Rescue!

We recently had a storm come through that knocked out our cable internet for a day. Adding to the torture of being without internet for almost the whole weekend, my router started to wig out when the connection did come back up. I was able to plug my machine directly to the modem, and get a connection, but I got nothing when connected to my Linksys WRT54G.

I spent way too much time trying to get the issue sorted out and it turned out to be a sporadic problem. When everything was lined up just right I sometimes would get the router to act properly. Even when I did get a connection to the internet established, I could never get port forwarding working. I was starting to suspect maybe my ISP was blocking ports, but I couldn’t find anyone complaining out that on any forums. I’ve been using this router for a few years with my previous DSL connection and it worked like a champ, so this whole issue was very frustrating.

Quite a while back I had heard about the DD-WRT project and was really impressed by it. Well, now with nothing to loose, I decided to flash my router with the DD-WRT firmware.

The whole process was really painless. I just followed the instructions for my specific router and I didn’t have any problems. The web interface is really slick and adds a ton of functionality that’s not in the factory firmware. One of the first things I noticed was a setting for “STP” and the help text says to “Disable for Comcast ISP.’ Hmm… interesting. I finished the configuration and I was up and running right away. I even got the port forwarding turned on without any problems.

This entry was posted in Computers, Electronics, Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DD-WRT to the Rescue!

  1. Jason says:

    I think the storm was just a coincidence. It forced me to reset and before this, I knew I was having port forwarding problems. I just didn’t find the time to look at it. Plus, at one point, I did have the connection working after the storm. I think that dd-wrt just seems to work better with my cable modem. It’s been running for the last three weeks and I haven’t had to reset.

  2. Ty says:

    I’ve been using DD-WRT for a long while now. Being out at the farm in the country we can only get a wireless ISP, and at that in only the far part of the property. I have the wireless antenna set up, then wired to the first Linksys router hooked to the 6′ mast antenna from Hawking, then two more hooked up at the houses as a WAN to repeat the signal to saturate the houses.

    It just couldn’t be done without DD-WRT. Open source for the win!

  3. FrankDaFixer says:

    I have a Linksys WRT54G ver 6 router that I have been meaning to update to DD-WRT, but I know the hardware has a limitation with the firmware memory size. I recently had another strange occurrence happen to me which I thought you might appreciate Where I was losing my internet connected at midnight everyday. Tell me what you think.
    http://www.everythingtech.net/2009/03/losing-internet-connectivity-at-midnight/

Leave a Reply

