Windows Mobile DST Update

Microsoft today released a patch for Windows Mobile to update for the the 2007 Daylight Savings time changes that go into effect in March. Here’s how my update went. I thought it would be very simple, but leave it to Microsoft to over complicate things and screw it up.

So here’s the updated Microsoft KB article explaining how to do this update.

According to the instructions, first, you apply the patch for your operating system (2000, XP, Vista, etc.) I updated my XP machine without a problem.

Next, if you use Outlook, you need a patch for that. Ok, so I downloaded and tried to install that. However I got this error:

“Either there is no default mail client or the current mail client cannot fulfill the messaging request. Please run Microsoft Office Outlook and set it as the default mail client.”


msol1.jpg

Well, I don’t use Outlook for email, I use Thunderbird. But, I went ahead and changed my default client to Outlook, and I also had to setup a dummy email profile to make the whole thing happy. Then the patch finally installed. Then go back into Thunderbird, and set it back as the default client.

Finally, I was now able to actually install the Windows Mobile patch. It installed just fine, but it didn’t actually DO ANYTHING to my PPC. I tried reconnecting it, rebooting and re-syncing. Nothing! I did install some files to my hard drive under “C:\Program Files\Windows Mobile DST07 Updates” but that’s it. I even tried setting the clock to March 11, 2007 1:59AM. It just rolled right to 2:00. The patch obviously didn’t apply.

So, to make a long story short, go over here and get this guy’s CAB to patch your PPC. It’s simple, easy and it works. I originally saw his post a couple weeks ago, but I was holding out for the “official” Microsoft solution… now I wish I hadn’t bothered.

I understand that updating all this software for the DST changes isn’t as simple as it may appear on the surface. As a programmer, I can appreciate that.. but really does the installation have to be this complicated for the end user!?!?

This entry was posted in Pocket PC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

