PC Decrapifier v1.7 Released

Hope you all had a Happy Holiday. With the new year, comes new crap to remove from PCs, which means a new version of the PC Decrapifier.

A nice set of updates for version 1.7. I was able to get my hands on a Dell Inspiron 6400, which allowed me to validate and fix some problems with existing removal functions and add some new ones. I’ve also added some updates based on some user feedback. Updates include:

  • Fix for AOL US/UK detection
  • Remove more useless desktop icons
  • Remove more Run Registry Entries
  • Remove some startup folder items

Applications:

  • Corel Snapfire Plus
  • Yahoo! Music Jukebox
  • Vongo

I’ve also decided to make a few business changes to hopefully begin to move this script into a more polished and useful tool. I would like to continue to keep this up to date and expand it as the PC manufacturers continue to infest our PCs. So, here’s what I’m doing as of this release.

The biggest thing is that I am modifying the license to provide for a commercial version. This tool will remain free for personal use. However, if you would like to use this in a business, you will need to purchase a commercial license of the tool on a per technician basis. For example, if you have a small computer repair business and you have three PC technicians, you would need a license for each. Considering the time this tool saves, I feel that the $20/seat fee is very reasonable. If you have other special considerations, please contact me and I’ll be happy to work with you.

If you are an end user and have found this tool very helpful and would like to show your appreciation, I have also designated a personal use license you may purchase for $5.

The other thing that some of you will notice is that I am no longer providing the source code with the distribution. Originally, I had hoped that I would spur more community involvement proving enhancements, but since the tool was released I’ve gotten very few. So, removing the source code is to help protect my time investment in the software. Please contact me if you have a special need for the source and we may be able to work something out.

I really want to thank all of the users for the tremendous feedback and encouragement. My intent and goal now and in the future is to continue to be an advocate for the PC user by keeping this program going. It’s been a fun and interesting journey getting this program to where it is today. I hope it will continue for the foreseeable future.

Thanks.

Click Here to Go to the PC Decrapifier Page

This entry was posted in Computers, PC Decrapifier. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

