Introducing the PC De-Crapifier

In an effort to expand the De-Crapifier tool beyond just Dell machines, it’s getting a new name: The PC De-Crapifier. I’ve been contemplating doing this for some time now, however an email from a Dell trademark representative tilted the scales to do it now 🙂

The guy from Dell was very polite and courteous. I’m houring his request by removing their name from the name of my tool. I’ve seen many comments on my blog here and the Digg post about people complaining about HP/Compaq, IBM, Toshiba as well. So, I’m making this an equal opportunity De-Crapifier tool. If you happen to be manually De-Crapifying a machine and you want to help others avoid the same drudgery, see the PC De-Crapifier page to learn how to add your findings to the script.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Introducing the PC De-Crapifier

  1. Marcus says:

    Very cool!

    has this been submitted to Digg? (www.digg.com)

    I remember seeing the just Dell vers on there before.

  2. HAN says:

    A dumb question… Does the PC De-Crapifier just automate the removal of the “crap” (by automating the Add or Remove Programs routine) or does it actually go in and remove the programs?

    The reason I ask is that I have a Toshiba laptop that has AOL 9 on it. The laptop Add or Remove Programs section shows AOL 9 and if you look in Explorer, it’s there too. But when you try to run the AOL remove routine, it says no version is installed???? Would your program help in this case?

    Thanks!!!!

  3. Jason says:

    In Response to HAN,

    It’s a good question, however I don’t think the De-Crapifier will help in this case. It automates the AOL uninstaller. So, if the AOL uninstaller doesn’t think it’s there, then the De-Crapifier won’t be able to do anything. Sorry 😦

  4. Pingback: T. Longren

  5. Pingback: Feral Gifter » Introducing the PC De-Crapifier

  6. Rishi says:

    If I use this software will it get rid of 1) AOL remnant causes problem with McAfee Spamkiller and 2) Constant hour glass possibly caused by Google Toolbar as listed here ?(http://www.dellone2one.com/one2one/archive/2006/07/21/789.aspx?CommentPosted=true#commentmessage)

  7. Jason says:

    In Response to Rishi,

    As version 1.4 it does not fix either of those problems, however, now that you mention them, I will be looking to see if I can include that for v1.5. Thanks!

  8. SEO Brad says:

    How important is the Mcafee spam killer, it seems like all it does it take up more memory?

  9. BobNoxious says:

    I ordered a Dell e521 from dell small business. I see my slip says i get all sorts of crap like Norton Internet Security Trial Version. Will the decrapifier get rid of that? (I use other security sw).

    Please advise. Thanks!

  10. Greensboro says:

    I took off all the security crap off my dell and didn’t replace it and have not had any issues with it.

Leave a Reply

